Welcome to Current affairs page for Osun State — Land of Virtue

The state was created on August 27, 1991 by Gen. Murtala Muhammed. It is located in the South-West region of Nigeria, and there are 30 local governments with the state capital being Osogbo.

State Capital

The state capital is Osogbo.

State Slogan

The official state slogan is Land of Virtue.

Creation Date

The state was created on August 27, 1991.

State Creator

The state was created by Gen. Murtala Muhammed.


The population is 4,237,396.

Land Area

It has a land area of 9,250 square kilometres.

Number of Local Governments

There are 30 local governments here.

Geopolitical Zone

This state is situated in South-West geopolitical zone.

Not allowed!
Scroll to Top