Welcome to Current affairs page for Oyo State — Pace Setter State.

The state was created in 03/02/1976 by Gen. Murtala Muhammed. It is located in the South-West region of Nigeria, and there are 33 local governments with the state capital being Ibadan.

State Capital

The state capital is Ibadan.

State Slogan

The official state slogan is Pace Setter State.

Creation Date

The state was created on 03/02/1976.

State Creator

The state was created by Gen. Murtala Muhammed.


The population is 7512855.

Land Area

It has a land area of 28454 square kilometres.

Number of Local Governments

There are 33 local governments here.

Geopolitical Zone

This state is situated in South-West geopolitical zone.

Not allowed!
Scroll to Top